1 Jul 2021

A new scheme starts 1 July 2021 that will allow Victorian workers to have their registrations and licences recognised in other Australian states.

Under the 'Automatic mutual recognition of occupational registrations' (AMR) scheme, many workers will be able to perform in other states and territories the same activities they're licensed for in their home state.

The AMR scheme will create a more mobile workforce to fill skill gaps, and reduce registration and licensing costs for thousands of businesses, tradespeople and other registered professionals who work and operate over state lines.

AMR starts 1 July 2021 in Victoria, NSW, NT and the ACT, with other states committing to join the scheme soon. It will begin with a limited number of occupations and include more occupations as Australia transitions to the scheme.

Visit Improving occupational mobility for more information.